Our Mission

Advancing Emergency Medicine through exceptional education, patient care, research, and collaboration.

Interim Chief of Emergency Medicine

Danielle Campagne, MD, FACEP

Danielle Campagne, MD, FACEP

Program Director

Stacy Sawtelle-Vohra

Stacy Sawtelle Vohra, MD, FACEP

Welcome Video

UCSF Diversity

UCSF Diversity Image

Alumni, Stay In Touch

Emergency Medicine


Founded in 1974 at Valley Medical Center in Fresno County, the Emergency Medicine residency is one of the first EM programs in the country. We offer a four-year program (PGY 1-4) with 10 residents per year, featuring a strong emphasis on clinical teaching and hands-on training. Our giant, new, state-of-the-art ED at Community Regional Medical Center serves as the only Level 1 trauma center and Burn center for Central California, and handles an annual ED volume of 110,000.

We are committed to provide high-quality, timely emergency care via the educational paradigm and to advance the specialty of Emergency Medicine nationally through educational innovations, scholarship and the dissemination of state-of-the-art Emergency Medicine care.

Program Aims

  • Empower residents to develop expertise beyond the fundamentals.
  • Create an environment that encourages achievement, success and leadership beyond residency.
  • Cultivate a culture of clinical excellence, professionalism and patient advocacy.
  • Recruit medical students and physicians who respect the rights and dignity of patients and conduct themselves with professional and personal integrity.


Stacy Sawtelle Vohra, MD
Program Director
155 N. Fresno
Fresno, CA 93701-2302
(559) 499-6440

Welcome EM Residency Class of 2026!

Karen Chung
Karen Chung, MD

Minyoung ChungMinyoung Chung, MD

Corinne CushingCorinne Cushing, MD Jessica Dominguez De La Rose
Jessica Dominguez, MD,MPH
Mark Dothseth
Mark Dotseth, MD
Andrew GilmierAndrew Giltmier, MD Eugene HanEugene Han, MD Chelsea Meier-Lima-Nobre-De-QueirozChelsea Meier Lima Nobre de Queiroz, MD
Anne Rempel
Anne Rempel, MD, MS
Anuvir Singh
Anuvir Singh, MD, MPH
Tyler Wilson
Tyler Wilson, MD
Matthew Woodle
Matt Woodle, MD


2022-2023 Chief Residents

Congratulations to our 2022-2023 chief residents Drs. Scott Goddard, Jessica Martin Moreno, Jessica Nguyen, and Daniel Ward!

Scott Goddard, DO
Scott Goddard
Jessica Martin, MD
Jessica Martin Moreno
Jessica Nguyen, DO
Jessica Nguyen
Daniel Ward, MD
Daniel Ward


2022-2023 Fellows

Please welcome our 2022-2023 Wilderness Medicine Fellow, Dr. Michael Fischer and our Medical Education Fellow, Dr. Andrew Cox.

Michael FischerMichael Fischer Andrew Cox
Andrew Cox

Leah Bauer


Dr. Leah Bauer served as medical director for the Two Cities Marathon in Fresno/Clovis. Resident medical directors included Drs. Kayla Johnson (R4), Madeline Giegold (R3), and Jesus Martinez (R4). They were featured in UP CLOSE | UCSF Fresno Physicians Volunteer at Two Cities Marathon to Provide Medical Care. 




Danielle Campagne

Dr. Danielle Campagne was inducted into the Haile T. Debas Academy of Medical Educators Class of 2022. The Academy’s mission is to support the people who carry out and advance the education mission of UCSF by fostering an organizational culture that values educators and accelerates advances in teaching and learning to improve health.




Ariana Zaghmouri was awarded the Jaclyne Witte Boyden Staff Award from the Haile T. Debas Academy of Medical Educators at UCSF.  This award recognizes exceptional staff members for outstanding contributions across all health professions schools at UCSF. 




Resident commencement was on June 9th at the Saroyan Theatre. Congratulations to our R4s for all of their hard work!







Congratulations to EM faculty Dr. Brian Chinnock for receiving the Henry J. Kaiser for Excellence in Teaching Award during the resident graduation on June 9th. The award is given to one clinical faculty within UCSF Fresno for outstanding teaching. Fellow department nominees included Drs. Lily Hitchner and Crystal Ives Tallman.




Dr. Sue Spano received the Paul S. Auerback Award from the Wilderness Medicine Society. The award is given to a physician in recognition of sustained significant clinical or service contribution to Wilderness Medicine and/or scientific achievement in Wilderness Medicine in combination with service to the Society.




Spanish-language COVID-19 FAQ
Paloma Marin-Nevarez, MD, PGY1, along with Community Medical Centers, developed a critical informational video that addresses questions and concerns that Fresno’s Spanish-speaking communities might have about COVID-19 and the vaccines.

In the News

Dr. Jessie Werner featured in Your Central Valley | July 15, 2022
What is the difference between heat stroke and heat exhaustion?

Dr. Kenny Banh featured on ABC 30 | July 1, 2022
UCSF Fresno creates pathway for community college to medical school

Dr. Sarah Roberson featured on ABC 30 | June 10, 2022
Valley health experts warn of heat-related illness in extreme weather


Stay in the Know