• hcopslider1
  • hcopslider2
  • hcopslider3
  • hcopslider4
  • hcopslider5
  • hcopslider6

 

About the Health Careers Opportunity Program


The Health Careers Opportunity Program is a partnership between the University of California, San Francisco Fresno Latino Center for Medical Education and Research and California State University Fresno (Fresno State) to provide support to disadvantaged Fresno State students committed to becoming competitive applicants to health professional schools.

 


HCOP Overview


Selected students engage in a structured program of academic enrichment and social support, preparing them for admission into health professional school. The ultimate goal is for these individuals to become healthcare professionals that will practice in the Central Valley, providing care to the medically underserved.

 


 

HCOP Newsletter

 

Click to read our latest newsletter for HCOP students!

 


 

Reminder! ​​The Health Career Connection 2016 Summer Internship Program Application is now open! The deadline for submission is February 8, 2016. Please visit our website at www.healthcareers.org to learn more and click here to access the application! Questions? Email info@healthcareers.org

For more inofrmation and to get your questions answered, join us for the 2016 Summer Internship Program Informational Webinars! 

To register, please use the following links below: 

 
Friday January 8th at 12:00pm PST/ 3:00pm EST
Registration Link: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/1111689090331090177
Thursday January14th at 9:00am PST/ 12:00pm EST
Registration Link: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/7094445218169333762
Wednesday January 20th at 10:00am PST/ 1:00pm EST
Registration Link: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/2215873642820290306
Tuesday January 26th at 2:00pm PST/ 5:00pm
Registration Link: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/2846759121187020802
Thursday February 4th at 12:00pm PST/ 3:00pm EST
Registration Link:https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/1560283237689167106

 

​Description of Program:

  • A paid, full-time 10-week internship placement in a partner organization. Interns work under the direction of a preceptor and work on meaningful projects that are educational for the student and benefit the organization and its community. 
  • HCC partners with leading health organizations to offer meaningful internship experiences in eight regions including California (Northern/Central/Southern /Coachella Valley ), New England, New York/New Jersey, North Carolina and Washington D.C. 
  • Our Apprenticeship model pairs you with a preceptor to serve as a mentor. 
  • Workshops on key professional and personal development topics including: leadership, advocacy, cultural competence, life and career planning and graduate education preparation.
  • Community building and networking opportunities with peers, professionals, and alumni.
  • Site visits to a diverse set of key partner organizations to provide exposure to multiple settings and projects.
  • Internship stipends range between $3,000 and $4,000. 
UCSF School of Medicine UCSF School of Pharmacy UCSF School of Pharmacy