The SUMMA Pre-Health Conference: Save the Date
Date: Saturday, February 20, 2016
Location: Stanford School of Medicine


Stanford University Minority Medical Alliance (SUMMA) student organization hosts one of the oldest pre-medical conferences on the west coast, typically drawing students throughout the Bay Area
and California. The goal of the conference is to increase diversity in the health professions to better care for underrepresented communities.



Reminder! ​​The Health Career Connection 2016 Summer Internship Program Application is now open! The deadline for submission is February 8, 2016. Please visit our website at to learn more and click here to access the application! Questions? Email

For more inofrmation and to get your questions answered, join us for the 2016 Summer Internship Program Informational Webinars! 

To register, please use the following links below: 

Friday January 8th at 12:00pm PST/ 3:00pm EST
Registration Link:
Thursday January14th at 9:00am PST/ 12:00pm EST
Registration Link:
Wednesday January 20th at 10:00am PST/ 1:00pm EST
Registration Link:
Tuesday January 26th at 2:00pm PST/ 5:00pm
Registration Link:
Thursday February 4th at 12:00pm PST/ 3:00pm EST
Registration Link:

​Description of Program:

  • A paid, full-time 10-week internship placement in a partner organization. Interns work under the direction of a preceptor and work on meaningful projects that are educational for the student and benefit the organization and its community. 
  • HCC partners with leading health organizations to offer meaningful internship experiences in eight regions including California (Northern/Central/Southern /Coachella Valley ), New England, New York/New Jersey, North Carolina and Washington D.C. 
  • Our Apprenticeship model pairs you with a preceptor to serve as a mentor. 
  • Workshops on key professional and personal development topics including: leadership, advocacy, cultural competence, life and career planning and graduate education preparation.
  • Community building and networking opportunities with peers, professionals, and alumni.
  • Site visits to a diverse set of key partner organizations to provide exposure to multiple settings and projects.
  • Internship stipends range between $3,000 and $4,000. 


  • Candidates must be currently enrolled in an undergraduate program (community college or 4-year college or university) or have recently graduated from an undergraduate institution.
  • Recent graduates must have completed their degree within the last three years.
  • Candidates who are enrolled in a post baccalaureate are eligible to apply.
  • Graduate students are not eligible to apply.
  • Students enrolled in high school and/or are simultaneously taking community college classes are not eligible to apply.
  • Past work experience is not necessary


Nick Mejia (class of 2010) graduated with a Bachelors in Public Health from Fresno State and onward to a Master’s program

Michael Mejia (class of 2013) currently attends Georgetown University.  He is on his way to Wall Street in NYC at the invitation of Merrill Lynch for Diversity Forum before heading to Nicaragua for a summer internship. He was recently accepted into the MLT elite corporate executive program. 

UCSF School of Medicine UCSF School of Pharmacy UCSF School of Pharmacy